Regardless of country, culture, geography or history, churches go through similar and predictable phases on their way to becoming healthy and reproductive.

The Four-Stage Development Model identifies the common landmarks that local churches pass on their way to maturity. It provides practical definitions for the various elements that enable a church to function well throughout its development.

As the name implies, the Four-Stage Development Model identifies four phases of progressive maturity. Those stages are not rigid or precise definitions. Rather, they are broad categories such as “childhood” or “adolescence.”

Take a few moments to read more about the four individual stages.

The Four-Stage Development Model

The church starts when workers bring the lost to Christ and plant local congregations. The goal is responsible disciples who evangelize and reproduce themselves. The church at Thessalonica in Greece started this way (Acts 17:1-9; 1 Thess. 1:1-10).
The church grows stronger when leaders give practical Christian teaching and train more leaders. The goal is responsible, reproducing leaders who serve their families and the local church.
The national church organizes to govern and support itself and to do its own evangelism in a way that is sensitive to local cultures. The goal is responsible local congregations that plant other churches. Together they become a national church movement to reach the entire country. The church at Ephesus in Turkey developed and multiplied this way (Acts 19-20).
The national church reaches out to people of other cultures and languages. The goal is responsible national churches that send and support workers who serve other cultures and countries, and create movements of their own. In obedience to the Holy Spirit, the church at Antioch in Syria became such a church when they sent Paul and Barnabas (Acts 13:1-4).

Reimagine Foursquare

Reimagine Foursquare was a collaborative look at missional and organizational effectiveness. Download our visual timeline which follows the Reimagine process from 2009 to today.

Download Timeline

Read Reimagine Articles

Connect With the Five Stakes

The Five Stakes were introduced at Foursquare Connection 2014 by President Glenn Burris Jr. and affirmed by the convention body.

The Five Stakes, our strategy for accomplishing goals birthed out of Reimagine Foursquare, are as follows:

  • Stake 1: Align everything Foursquare to the Great Commission.
  • Stake 2: Align the National Church Office and district offices to a catalytic culture.
  • Stake 3: Align 100 percent of the tithe to the field, local and district.
  • Stake 4: Align Foursquare Foundation to resourcing and supporting the Foursquare mission.
  • Stake 5: Align polity to provide property options for local churches.

Read News Related to The Five Stakes

Glossary of Terms

What is Reimagine Foursquare, an IFLF loan, a Missional Congregation, and a partridge in a pear tree? We can help you define three out of the four, at least.

Download Glossary PDF

Current Leadership News

Check out current Foursquare leadership news and happenings.

View Leadership Articles